18 فناناً


برنامج الإقامة الفنية

كريستو سانز وأندرو وير

حصل كريستو سانز ( المولود سنة 1985) على درجة البكالوريوس من مدرسة الفنون البصرية في بورتوريكو قبل إكمال الماجستير في الاتصالات البصرية والتصوير الفوتوغرافي من إليسافا، اسبانيا. أندرو وير (المولود سنة 1987) حاصل على بكالوريوس الفنون الجميلة من جامعة رامون لول بإسبانيا ويستكمل حاليا برنامج ماجستير ممارسات المتاحف والمعارض في كلية لندن الجامعية قطر. وينتج الفناين معاً التصوير الفوتوغرافي، فيديوهات الوسائط المتنوعة التي تستكشف الهويات الاجتماعية ووتتناول الإعلام وإعادة تفسير التاريخ. يقيمان حاليا ويعملان في الدوحة، قطر. وقد تم في السابق عرض فنهما في الشرق الأوسط، الولايات المتحدة وأمريكا الوسطى وأوروبا.

ناصر العطية

فنان قطري لديه خلفية أكاديمية ومهنية في هندسة البترول، ولكنه شغوف بالفن المعاصر. وقد اكتسب كل خبراته في الفنون الجميلة من التعلم الذاتي. أنا عضو في الجمعية القطرية للفنون التشكيلية حيث شاركت في العديد من المعارض المحلية والدولية. وأسعى جاهداً من خلال لوحاتي، لتضمين القصص المخفية والمعنى، كما أحب مشاركتها ونقلها إلى الجمهور. وتعكس أعمالي الفنية في جوهرها الشعور بالحرية بشكل عام- حرية المرأة وطموحاتها ووقتها وصبرها. وما يدفعني لإنجاز هذه الأعمال هي التراث، والقضايا الاجتماعية، والتجارب الشخصية.

تشارلز ماهافي

ولد تشارلز ماهافي في جورجيا بالولايات المتحدة في عام 1980. حصل على البكالوريوس والماجستير في الفنون الجميلة من مدرسة معهد الفنون في شيكاغو. ومنذ تخرجه، عرض أعماله محلياً وفي الخارج في أماكن مثل معرض لويد دوبلر ، معرض يوليوس قيصر ، ومعرض A+D في جامعة كولومبيا بشيكاغو، ومعارض MDW 2011 و 2012، إضافة إلى المعرض القادم في شيكاغو للفن وغيرها. وهو يعيش ويعمل حاليا في الدوحة، قطر.

إميلينا سواريس

التاريخ لا نهاية له، ولكن الذكريات تذكرنا بما كان موجوداً. تدور ممارستي حول صياغة وجهة نظر المستشرقين التي تشكل هويتي. كفرد أنتمي للعرق والثقافة الهندية وكوني من أصول برتغالية، كان لي فضول ورغبة لاستكشاف تأثيرات الثقافات واستخدام السيميائية (الرموز) بهدف سد هذا التداخل. تأتي رغبتي في محاكاة المفاهيم من اللوحات التاريخية الشهيرة في المونتاج الرقمي في سياق العمل بإستخدام الوسائل والوسائط المعاصرة، وعبر تصفيف المفارقات التاريخية والثقافية. آمل أن أتوصل إلى إدراك وفهم أفضل لهويتي في ثقافة أجنبية، ولكنها معروفة، سواء كفنان وكفرد.

هناء السعدي

هناء السعدي فنانة قطرية حاصلة على البكالوريوس في الفنون الجميلة من جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث في قطر، سنة 2015. درست الرسم والطباعة، في الوقت الذي تواصل اهتمامها بفن النحت. أثناء فترة دراستها في فيرجينيا كومنولث، اكتشفت شغفها بالنجارة وشرعت في ابداع أعمال تركيبية بينما كانت بصدد تطوير مهارات التفكير المفاهيمي. لهناء عدد من المنحوتات الحركية التي تجعل المشاهدين يستمتعون بمشاهدة حركات بسيطة في أشياء ثابتة نراها كل يوم. وتميل منحوتاتها إلى أن تكون ملتوية، وممتعة للنظر في، ولكنها تتميز بالجدية في نفس الوقت.

مريم يوسف الحميد

مريم الحميد هي مصممة متعددة التخصصات وتحمل شهادة البكالوريوس في التصميم الجرافيكي ودرجة الماجستير في دراسات التصميم من جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث في قطر. تعمل حاليا كأول قطرية بطاقم التدريس في قسم التصميم الجرافيكي بجامعة حمد بن خليفه. تنحدر مريم من عائلة فنية حيث كان والدها فناناً تشكيلياً واجدادها من الصناع والحرفيين. وقد أدى اهتمامها الشخصي بالنماذج والتصنيع الى فضولها وحبها الإستكشاف في مجال التصميم. و تعتقد أنه من خلال متابعة حركة الصانع (وهي عبارة عن ثورة تم تحديثها مؤخرا تمزج بين وسائل مستندة بالتكنولوجيا) وثقافة اعمل بنفسك يمكن من خلالها بناء الجسور بين وسائل التكنولوجيا المتقدمة (مثل طباعة ثلاثية الابعاد) التي تتواجد حالياً مع الحرف المنسية التي كانت موجودة في الشرق الأوسط والخليج العربي.

نور أبو عيسى

تخرجت نور أبوعيسى من كلية سنترال سانت مارتن للفنون والتصميم بدرجة البكالوريوس في الفنون التشكيلية. ينبع عملها من التصميم الاسلامي وليس بتقليده. تستوحي نور عملها الفني من قدرة الفن الإسلامي التقليدي على توصيل العواطف من خلال استخدام الهندسة البسيطة والألوان النابضة بالحياة، ويجذبها التوازن من خلال التماثل في أشكال الفن المجرد. وقد طورت نور لغة فنية خاصة بها من خلال تكييف التصميم الهندسي الإسلامي في الفن المعاصر. وتقوم بتطبيقها في الرسم والنحت، وتصميم الأثاث لتسليط الضوء على قيمها الفريدة مثل: قوة اللون، والبساطة في الشكل والجمال الذي لا يمكن إنكاره.

عثمان خنجي

المصمم عثمان خنجي مع هذا الصورة النمطية ويكتب سيناريو آخر." ميشال مازور، مجلة تريند نوماد. أود أن تكون التسعة أشهر القادمة من الإبداع المبتكر، قوية مثل رحلة الحمل حيث سأحمل مدارس جديدة للفكر طوال هذه التسعة أشهر تتمخض عنها توجهات إبداعية تؤدي إلى أسلوب حياة التطور المتواصل للفنانين الناشئين في قطر.

سارة العبيدلي

سارة العبيدلي، مصورة بورتريت ومصورة أفلام وثائقية. ولدت بالدوحة سنة 1987. ونشأت في الشرق الأوسط، ثم انتقلت إلى المملكة المتحدة، حيث حصلت على درجة البكالوريوس في موضة المنسوجات ودراسات الأعمال ومن ثم على درجة الماجستير في التصميم المستدام من جامعة برايتون. وتقوم سارة من خلال مشاريعها الذاتية باستكشاف القضايا السياسية والفلسفية والاجتماعية المختلفة التي نواجهها اليوم، من خلال التقاط الصور التي تبين الحقيقة، والواقع، والدفء الإنساني، وهو النمط المتكرر في مواضيع أعمالها. كما تسعى من خلال وسيلة البورتريه، بتقديم اللحظات الوثيقة للمشاعر الإنسانية، وكشف الحقيقة والواقع بدون أية حواجز وكما هو. يجذب عمل سارة الخاص بالمناظر الطبيعية إلى مناطق معزولة، هذه الأماكن التي تثير مشاعر الإنْفِراد والإنعزال وغالبا عدم الارتياح.

وقاص فريد

وقاص فريد يساعد حاليا في تصميم وتنفيذ المعارض بمتاحف قطر. ولد في الاحياء الغيرمعروفة من أعظم مدينة في العالم - مدينة نيويورك - ثم نشأ في أسوأ الأمكان / وربما ليس الأسوأ على الإطلاق في العالم - ضواحي نيو جيرسي. في عام 2010، تخرج وقاص بدرجة الماجستير المتخصص في الفنون التشكيلية من كلية بارد، والمركز الدولي للتصوير في مدينة نيويورك. تدون أعماله حول التركيب والتصوير الفوتوغرافي، والذي يأمل في مواصلة استكشافه أثناء إقامته الفنية.

وسيم المرزوقي

البكالوريوس في الفنون التشكليلة. وفي عام 2012، قام بدراسة السينما في مدرسة "جي سي آي"، في هوليوود / كاليفورنيا. شارك في العديد من المعارض الفردية والجماعية في فرنسا وإيطاليا والمملكة المتحدة والإمارات العربية المتحدة واسطنبول وقطر. عمل المرزوقي في مجال الأفلام، وتم عرض أعماله في المهرجانات السينمائية المختلفة بما في ذلك مهرجان تريبيكا السينمائي، مهرجان طهران (حيث حاز على الجائزة الفضية)، ومهرجان دمشق السينمائي. يعيش ويعمل حاليا كمنتج أفلام في قطر.

عائشة السويدي

ولدت عائشة السويدي ونشأت في الدوحة - قطر، وهي مصممة ذات تخصصات متعددة ومقرها في قطر. وتعبر تصاميمها عن كيفية تفاعل مصممة محلية تجاه المشهد المتغير باستمرار في قطر النامية. وتتضمن أعمال عائشة الخبرات والسلوكيات القديمة، مع التصميم المعاصر للأشياء المستخدمة داخل المنزل للحفاظ على شعور التواجد بالوطن. كما يجعل عملها المدينة الحديثة أقرب إلى المنزل من خلال استخدامها مواد مستوحاة من المدينة. ولها تصاميم تتناول مواضيع الذاكرة، والحنين إلى الماضي، وما يتركه الزمن من آثار. وهي حاصلة على الماجستير في دراسات التصميم، ودرجة البكالوريوس في التصميم الجرافيكي من جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث في قطر.

كيلي لوي

كيلي لوي (مواليد 1990 ميلان، إيطاليا) حاصلة على شهادة البكالوريوس من جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث مدرسة الفنون في ريتشموند سنة 2013. وكانت لوي من بين المشاركين في برنامج الإقامة الفنية في قسم الرسم والطباعة في جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث. وهي حاليا مرشحة لدرجة الماجستير في العلوم في دراسات الترميم في كلية لندن الجامعية في قطر متخصصة في حفظ المواد البوليمرية. لا تتمثل قيمة الفن المعاصر لحد كبير لكونه ضرورياً، ولكن قيمته الكبرى تتمثل في الأسئلة التي يطرحها.

سيباستيان بيتانكور-مونتويا

وُلد سيباستيان سنة 1982 بجبال الأنديز بكولومبيا، في ظل الطفولة الساحلية الأطلسية. وهو يمتهن الهندسة والتصميم الحضري ، بُسْتانِيّ بالفطرة وباحث شغوف يعمل وسط تشابك الفن والسياسة العالمية والبيئات المحلية.

“"أستخدم الأفضل
أستخدم الباقي"

Eighteen Artists


Artists in Residence programme

 

Christto Sanz & Andrew Weir

Christto Sanz (b.1985) received a BA from the Escuela de Artes Plásitcas, Puerto Rico before completing his Master in Visual Communication & photography from Elisava, Spain. Andrew Weir (b. 1987) holds a BBA from Universtitat Ramon Llull, Spain and is currently completing an MA in Museum & Gallery Practice at University College London’s branch in Qatar. Together they produce photography, mixed media objects and videos exploring social identities, the media and reinterpretations of history. They currently reside and work in Doha, Qatar. Previously their art has been shown in the Middle East, The United States, Central America and Europe.

Nasser Al-Attiyah

I’m a Qatari artist who has an academic and professional background in petroleum engineering, however my passion lies in contemporary art. All my experiences in fine art are a personal undertaking, and self-taught. I’m a member in Qatar Fine Arts Association where I participated in many local and international exhibitions. Through my paintings, I strive to embed hidden stories and meaning, which I love to share and convey to people. At its core my artworks convey a sense of freedom in general – womens’ freedom, their ambitions, time and patience. That combined with heritage, social issues, and personal experiences are what drive me.

Charles Mahafee

Charles Mahaffee was born in Georgia in the United States in 1980. He earned his Bachelor and Masters in Fine Art from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Since graduation he has shown his work nationally and abroad in such venues as Lloyd Dobler Gallery, Julius Caesar Gallery, A+D Gallery at Columbia College Chicago, the 2011 and 2012 MDW fairs, the NEXT exhibition at Art Chicago, and the Action Field Kodra Festival in Thessolaniki, Greece. He currently lives and works in Doha, Qatar.

Emelina Soares

History is endless, but memories remind us of what existed. My practice revolves around fabricating an Orientalist perspective that forms my identity. As a Third Culture individual of Indian ethnicity with Portuguese ancestry, raised in Qatar, has developed a curiosity about intercultural influences and the use of semiotics to bridge this perplexity. My desire to impersonate concepts of iconic historical paintings in a digital montage contextualizes the work within contemporary mediums, while juxtaposing historical and cultural anachronisms. I hope to attain a better understanding of my identity in a foreign, yet known, culture as I proceed both as an artist and an individual.

Hana Al–Saadi

Hana Al–Saadi is a Qatari artist who received her Bachelor of Fine Arts from Virginia Commonwealth University in Qatar, 2015. She studied painting and printmaking, while pursuing her interest in sculpture. During her period in VCUQ, she discovered her passion in carpentry and started making installations as she developed her conceptual thinking skills. Her kinetic sculptures make viewers admire the simple movements in still objects we see every day. Her sculptures tend to be quirky, and fun to look at, yet serious at the same time.

Maryam Yousef Al-Homaid

Maryam Al-Homaid is an interdisciplinary designer holding a Bachelor degree in Graphic Design and a Masters in Design Studies from Virginia Commonwealth University, Qatar. She is currently working as the first Qatari Junior Faculty in HBKU teaching in the Graphic Design department. Maryam comes from a family where her father is a fine artist and both grandfathers were makers and craftsmen. Her curiosity and exploration in design grew from a personal interest in prototyping and making. She believes that by pursuing the Maker movement (a recently revived revolution that mixes technology based-mediums and the DIY culture, can build the bridges between the high-tech mediums (such as 3D printing) that exist today and the lost crafts that existed in the Middle East and the Arabian Gulf

Noor Abu Issa

Noor Abuissa graduated from Central Saint Martin’s College of Art and Design with a BA in Fine Art. Her work stems from, but does not imitate, Islamic design. She is inspired by the ability of traditional islamic art to communicate emotions through the use of simple geometry and vibrant colour, and is drawn to the balance achieved through the symmetry in this abstract from of art. Noor has created her artistic language by adapting Islamic geometric design into contemporary art. She subsequently applies it in painting, sculpture, and furniture design to respectively highlight its most unique values: power of color, simplicity in form and undeniable beauty.

Othman Khunji

"Will faith and tradition entail a massive rejection of the new technology? Designer Othman Khunji does not agree with this stereotype and writes another scenario.” Michal Mazur, TREND NOMAD. I would like the upcoming 9 months of innovative creativity, to be as powerful as a pregnancy journey. As I shall be carrying new schools of thought throughout the 9 months, resulting in giving birth to creative trends leading to an ever so evolving lifestyle for emerging artists in Qatar.

Sara Al Obaidly

Sara Al Obaidly, portrait and documentary photographer. Born in 1987 in Doha, Qatar. Growing up in the Middle East, moving to the UK, where she obtained BA in Fashion Textiles with Business Studies and an MA in Sustainable Design at The University of Brighton. Her self-initiated projects explore the varying political, philosophical and social issues we face today, capturing images that present a truth, a reality, a human warmth, a theme recurrent in her work. Through the medium of portraiture, she seeks to witness and record intimate moments of human emotion, exposing a reality that is unshielded and therefore authentic. Sara’s landscape work draws her to isolated areas, places that evoke feelings of detachment and often unease. 

Waqas Farid

Waqas Farid currently helps design and implement exhibitions at Qatar Museums. He was born in a not so great part of the greatest city in the world – New York City – and then grew up in possibly the worst/not so bad place on earth – the New Jersey suburbs. In 2010, Waqas graduated with a specialized Masters in Fine Arts degree from Bard College and the International Center of Photography in New York City. His work revolves around installation & photography, which he hopes to explore further during his residency.

Waseem Almarzouki

Born in Syria /1982, graduated from Faculty of Fine Arts in Damascus /2007 with a BA in fine art. In 2012, he studied cinematography at "GCI" school, in Hollywood / California. Participated in several solo and group exhibitions in France, Italy, UK, UAE, Istanbul and Qatar. Marzouki has worked extensively with film and has held screenings of his work at various film festivals including the Tribeca Film Festival, Tehran Film Festival (winner of Silver Award), and Damascus Film Festival. He currently lives and works as a film producer in Qatar.

Aisha Al-Sowaidi

Born and raised in Doha Qatar, Aisha Al-Sowaidi is a multidisciplinary designer based in her home country. Her designs are an expression of how a local designer emotes and reacts towards the ever-changing landscape of a developing Qatar. Aisha’s work incorporates old experiences and behaviors with contemporary design in objects used within the house to maintain that feeling of being home. Her work also brings the modern city closer to the home through the use of materials inspired by the city. Her designs deal with memory, nostalgia, and traces of time. She holds an MFA in Design Studies and a BA in Graphic Design from the Virginia Commonwealth University’s Qatar campus.

Kelley Lowe

Kelley Lowe (b. 1990 Milan, Italy) received her BFA Virginia Commonwealth University School of Art in Richmond in 2013. Lowe was the Artist in Residence in the Painting and Printmaking department at VCUQatar. She is currently a candidate for a Masters in Science in Conservation Studies at University College London Qatar specializing in the conservation of polymeric materials. It is not so much for its value that contemporary art is essential, but for the questions it asks.

Sebastian Betancur-Montoya

Bin 1982 in the Andean mountains of Colombia, with an Atlantic coastal childhood. A nomad ever since. Architect/Urban Designer by profession, Gardener by conviction and passionate Researcher working at the intersection of Art, Global Politics and Local Environments.

“I use the best
! use the rest”

Lulu Al Musfir

Lulu Al Musfir is a Qatari contemporary artist who lives and practices in Qatar. Her work primarily revolves around pigmented resin as paintings. "This is my first residency, and I hope to do the best I can in an artistic environment. I hope to interact and learn from my new peers and grow as an artist"