نبذة عن


مطافيء: مقر الفنانين

Body

 

تتوجه متاحف قطر بالشكر والامتنان لحضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني الأمير الوالد ، لرؤيته لوضع الثقافة في صميم النسيج الاجتماعي والاقتصادي لدولة قطر. حيث بدأ مشروع مطافئ تحت قيادته ويستمر دعمه من قبل أمير دولة قطر، حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ تميم بن حمد بن خليفة آل ثاني.

تم تشييد مركز الدفاع المدني بالدوحة في عام 1982، وقد أقام فيه لواء المطافئ حتى عام 2012 حين تم تسليمه لمتاحف قطر لإعادة تأهيله وتحويله إلى مقر جديد لبرنامج الإقامة الفنية. وقد قام القطري إبراهيم الجيدة، المهندس الرئيسي للمشروع، بالحفاظ على الخصائص المعمارية الأصلية للمبنى. كما وضع مخطط للبرج القائم حالياً بجوار المبنى.

مطافئ هو فضاء إبداعي يُتيح الفرصة للمواهب الناشئة من داخل قطر لتعزيز مهارات الممارسة والبحث والعمل لتحقيق الاحتراف الفني المنشود. ويبدأ برنامج الإقامة الفنية في منتصف سبتمبر ويستمر لمدة تسعة أشهر حيث يتم دعوة الفنانين من جميع التخصصات لانشاء استديوهاتهم وإتمام مشروع من اختيارهم. في مطافئ، نوفر المرافق وندعم الإنتاج الفني والتنظيمي.

ويتم اختيار الفنانين المقيمين عبر تقديم طلب ترشح، ويُنظر في الترشحات من قبل لجنة تحكيم ليتم الاختيار النهائي على عدد 20 فنانا. وعند الانتهاء من الإقامة ، يُقام المعرض السنوي للإقامة الفنية لإطلاع الجمهور ما ما أبدعه الفنانون طوال مدة إقامتهم.

About Us

Get to know and interact with us

 

Body

 

Qatar Museums extends its gratitude to H.H. the Father Emir, Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani, for his vision to place culture at the heart of Qatar’s social and economic fabric. The Fire Station project started under his leadership and continues to be supported by the Emir of Qatar, H.H. Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani. 

The station was built in 1982 as a Civil Defence building. It was occupied by the fire brigade until late 2012 when it was handed over to Qatar Museums, to be recycled for contemporary use. Ibrahim Al Jeidah, the Qatari architect leading the project, has preserved the original details of the building and its tower.

We are a creative space that allows emerging talent from within Qatar to further their practice, research, and work as aspiring professional artists. The residency program begins mid-September for the duration of a nine month period where artists from all disciplines are invited to set up their respective studios and complete a specific project of their choice.

At the Fire Station, we provide facilities, production support, mentorships, and curatorial support. Residents are selected via application, after which an esteemed jury convenes to make a final selection of up to 20 artists. Upon completion of the residency, an annual Artists in Residence (AIR) Exhibition is curated and installed to share with the public what our artists have been working towards throughout the year.